Call Us (+65) 6227 2883

TOGAF® 9 Course - Level 1 (Foundation)
* Based on The TOGAF® Standard, Version 9.2.

TOGAF® 9 is a proven enterprise architecture methodology and framework used by the world's leading organisations to improve business efficiency. Enterprise architecture professionals fluent in TOGAF enjoy greater industry credibility, job effectiveness, and career opportunities.

Get certified in TOGAF 9 Level 1 with this powerful 2-day training program.

TOGAF certification is available in two levels - Foundation and Certified. This module covers the  Level 1 (Foundation) curriculum including terminology, structure, basic concepts of TOGAF 9, and the core principles of Enterprise Architecture. As well as the theory, the course includes many examples of architecture deliverables and artifacts. The course prepares participants to undertake the TOGAF Level 1 (Foundation) exam.

If you are also interested in TOGAF at Certified level then our TOGAF Combined course offers the best value.

What you get at the ALC TOGAF course

Tier 1 trainers. Training is a serious investment, it is not just the money but also your valuable time.  If you are going to allocate 4 days to learning, it is the person out the front who will make all the difference.  We have  built our reputation, since 1994, on the fact that we only work with Tier 1 trainers.


Excellent course materials. Not only do you get our comprehensive and fully-accredited course workbook, you also get the official TOGAF 9 Certification Self Study Pack 4th Edition, an invaluable tool for exam prep, plus the Personal PDF Edition of TOGAF version 9.2.

Exam vouchers plus trial exam.  During the course we provide you with exercises, test questions and mock exams to give you the best possible exam preparation.  At the end of the course you receive a Level 1 exam voucher that enables you to take the TOGAF certification exam within 12 months.

Value. Quality usually comes at a premium but we work hard at all levels to ensure competitive pricing, whether you’re a small, medium or large organisation or a private individual. Contact the ALC team if you think you can get a better comparable offer on TOGAF training anywhere else.

Great post-course support.  There are always questions after the course. We are local and we offer genuine support. Get your questions answered promptly and in your time zone.

ALC Group's TOGAF® 9 Course - Level 1 (Foundation) is accredited by The Open Group 

Learning outcomes

Individuals certified at Level 1 (Foundation) will acquire an understanding of:
  • The basic concepts of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF
  • The core concepts of TOGAF 9
  • The key terminology of TOGAF 9
  • The ADM cycle and the objectives of each phase, and how to adapt and scope the ADM
  • The concept of the Enterprise Continuum; its purpose and constituent parts
  • How each of the ADM phases contributes to the success of enterprise architecture
  • The ADM guidelines and techniques
  • How Architecture Governance contributes to the Architecture Development Cycle
  • The concepts of views and viewpoints and their role in communicating with stakeholders
  • The concept of building blocks
  • The key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • TOGAF reference models
  • The TOGAF certification program.

Who should attend

The Foundation module is designed for:
  • Architects who are looking for a first introduction to TOGAF 9
  • Professionals who are working in roles associated with an architecture project such as those responsible for planning, execution, development, delivery, and operation
  • Business Analysts, Systems Analysts and Technical Analysts who want to career develop into enterprise architecture
  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of TOGAF 9

Course contents

Level 1 (Foundation Module)

1.   Course Introduction

2.   Enterprise Architecture – An Introduction

3.   TOGAF®  9 – An Introduction

4.   The Architecture Development Method

5.   Adapting TOGAF to the Context

6.   Architecture Principles and Requirements

7.   Architecture Vision

8.   Risk Management

9.   Enterprise Integration

10. Enterprise Continuum and Architecture Repository

11. Architecture Patterns

12. Architecture Content Framework

13. Technology Architecture

14. Building Organisational Capability

15. Architecture Governance

16. Exam Preparation Guide

Course fees


Fees A$ per person

  • Level 1 (Foundation Module) (2 days)
  • $1950 + gst
  • Level 2 (Certified Module) (2 days)
  • $1950 + gst
  • Combined 4-day course
  • $2960 + gst

Course fee includes:

  • Comprehensive, fully-accredited course workbook
  • TOGAF 9 Certification Self Study Pack 4th Edition (official copy)
  • Sit-down lunch each day, plus morning and afternoon teas
  • Exam vouchers for Level 1 and/or Level 2 exams


There are no formal prerequisites to attend the TOGAF Level 1 Foundation course. For Certified level it is expected that participants have passed the TOGAF Level 1 Foundation exam.


Level 1 Foundation Exam

  • Certification is only achieved by passing the examination
  • The exam is in closed-book format, and includes 40 multiple-choice questions.
  • The pass score is 55% (22 out of 40 questions).
  • Duration of exam is 60 minutes
  • Exam vouchers are provided and the exam can only be taken at Pearson Vue test centers.

Travelling Participants:

Good News! The Open Group has just announced the availability of Pearson VUE OnVUE Online Proctoring.

With Online Proctoring, candidates who would need to travel, can now save money and time by taking their Certification Exams at home or at the office. For more information please click here. 

Exam Details

The TOGAF exams are administered by the Open Group at a Pearson Vue test centre.

  • Candidates will receive exam vouchers during the course
  • The exam is taken AFTER the course, at a suitable time
  • Vouchers are valid for 12 months
  • If an exam is failed ALC will contact you in regards to your re-sit options
  • Candidates cannot be awarded the Level 2 Certificate until they have passed both exams

TOGAF Exam pass / fail scenarios:

  • Fail level 1 / Fail level 2. No certificate awarded, can be undertaken as a combined exam or two separate exams no less than one month later.
  • Pass level 1 / Fail level 2. Level 1 certificate awarded, Level 2 exam can be undertaken no earlier than one month later.
  • Fail level 1 / Pass level 2. No certificate awarded. Level 1 exam can be undertaken no earlier than one month later.  Once level 1 is passed in this scenario a level 2 certificate will be awarded.
  • Pass level 1 / Pass level 2. Level 2 certificate only awarded