Live Virtual Training in Singapore time zone | Keep Learning with ALC


Presented by

DLJ (David Llewellyn Jones)

#1 COBIT 5 trainer in Asia-Pacific.


The COBIT® 5 Assessor 3-day certification course is practitioner-level training that focuses on how to apply the COBIT 5 Process Assessment Model (PAM) and how to analyse the results. The assessment results provide a determination of process capability and can be used for process improvement, delivering value to the business, measuring the achievement of current or projected business goals, benchmarking, consistent reporting and organisational compliance.

Become a COBIT® 5 Certified Assessor

Upon successful completion of the Assessor course and exam and upon meeting specific knowledge requirements, candidates are able to apply to ISACA to be designated as a COBIT Certified Assessor. This designation is the only globally accepted certification for COBIT assessors. COBIT 5 Certified Assessors are highly competent IT and business professionals who have been trained in performing COBIT-based IT process assessments and have experience in planning, building, running and/or monitoring IT processes. COBIT 5 Certified Assessors are able to provide reliable, consistent and repeatable assessments of IT process capabilities—which helps IT leaders gain C-level and board member buy-in for change and improvement initiatives.

Presented by David Llewelyn Jones

This course will be presented by David Llewellyn Jones (DLJ), Lead Trainer for COBIT and Head of Professional Services at ALC Group. With more than 25 years experience in the IT industry, focussing on strategy, governance and IT services, DLJ is one of the foremost authorities on COBIT in the Asia-Pacific region.

DLJ presented the very first COBIT 5 training programs in Australia in early 2012 and is the first in Australia (and Asia-Pacific) to be accredited for COBIT 5 Assessor and COBIT 5 Implementation.


Learning outcomes

At the conclusion of the course, attendees will be able to:
  • Understand the ISO 15504 process capability assessment specification
  • Perform an assessment according to the COBIT Process Assessment Model (PAM)
  • Use the COBIT 5 Process Reference Model for a process assessment
  • Determine the requirements for process capability
  • Conduct a COBIT process assessment using the assessor guides
  • Understand the differences between COBIT 4.1 and COBIT 5 and what to consider when transitioning
  • Define process improvements based on process assessment

Who should attend

This course is intended for all core IT professionals working in audit, assurance, risk, security and governance:
  • Chief Executives
  • Business management
  • IT/IS auditors
  • Internal auditors
  • Information security and IT practitioners
  • Consultants
  • IT service managers
  • IT/IS management
  • Anyone interested in learning more about COBIT 5

Course contents

  • Introduction and Purpose of the Guide
  • Process Assessment explained
  • What is a process assessment
  • What is the COBIT Assessment Programme
  • The differences between Capability and Maturity Assessment
  • Differences to the COBIT 4.1 CMM
  • Overview of the COBIT 5 Capability Model & Assessments
  • The Process Reference Model (PRM)
  • The Process Assessment Model (PAM)
  • The Measurement Framework
  • Introduction to the Assessor Training Steps
  • Exam preparation
  • COBIT 5 Assessor Certificate Exam

Course fees

Fees S$ per person

  • COBIT® 5 Assessor Course + Certificate Exam
  • $2150 + gst


Fees include:

  • Course presentation in quality CBD hotel
  • ALC course workbook
  • COBIT 5 Assessor Certificate exam
  • Full catering including sit-down lunch


Participants should have experience in the IT governance domain and have attained the COBIT 5 Foundation Certificate.

Certificate Exam

The official COBIT 5 Assessor exam is included as part of the course. The exam consists of 80 multiple-choice questions covering all areas of the COBIT 5 Assessor syllabus, to be answered in 2 hours 30 minutes (or 3 hours 10 minutes for non-native English speakers). This is an open book exam. The required pass mark is 50% or 40 correct answers. The exam takes place immediately at the end of the course.